Illinois Food Handler Enforcement Act Training Requirement
Effective 7/1/14, This new act requires that all food workers must obtain training in basic safe food handling principles within 30 days after employment. Certified food managers are exempt. Safe Food Handlers is approved by the Illinois Dept. of Public Health to offer this course. Non-restaurant law takes effect on 7/1/16 (businesses that 51% of their sales excluding alcohol is NOT food related)
There are three options to obtain the food handler training.
Online - Businesses or individuals can register online and buy as many courses as they wish for $11.95 per person. When the course is complete, a certificate it available to be printed. Click here to register or log into your existing account
Class materials - Course materials can be purchased and given to your employees to study and then take a quiz. Once completed, the students names are sent to Safe Food Handlers so certificates can be printed. Cost of this course is $15. To register, give our office a call at 217-793-5136.
Classroom - For 30 or more students, Safe Food Handlers will come to your facility and train your employees. When the training is completed, certificates will be printed. The cost of this option is $20 per student. To register, give our office a call at 217-793-5136.
For more information on the new Food Handler Enforcement Act go to the following links:
Enforcement Act Detail or Frequently Asked Questions